November 26, 2019 -- The Academy
In 1848, the Vermont legislature granted a chatrer for the Green Mountain Liberal Institute, and The Academy was established by a group of leading members of the Woodstock and South Woodstock region. Students numbering as many as two hundred were drawn from many parts of New England, New York, and the local area. They "boarded out" in surrounding homes and a local hotel.
The Academy name was changed in 1859 to Green Mountain Institute, and in 1869 to Green Mountain Perkins Academy. With the development of public high schools, the number of attending students declined, and the Academy closed in 1898. The building, still in original condition, serves as a repository and archival center for material related to the Academy and to 19th-century community activities in South Woodstock, Vermont. The Academy building, frequently used for community activities over the years, has never been used for any other purpose. It remains a unique example of a successful effort to offer boys and girls an educational opportunity beyond primary and grade school levels before the development of public schools.